Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Books

I really don't have anything interesting to post about. However, I did have a very successful trip to Goodwill lately and picked up some awesome books. So here's what I'm currently reading: The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins, The Sirens of Titan by Kurt Vonnegut and The X-Files Antibodies by Kevin J. Anderson.

I've read the beginning of The God Delusion on about 4 different occasion in libraries and book stores, so I'm glad I finally got my own copy so I can finish it out. Really loving what I've read so far. 

The Sirens of Titan is quite possibly my new favorite book. I'm not even halfway through it yet and I adore it.    It's definitely my favorite Vonnegut book that I've read so far. If you are a fan of Vonnegut (I know he isn't for everyone) and sci-fi, than this is the perfect book for you. (This book is perfect for me.)

Last but not least, yep- not only do I obsess over the show- I read the books. Haha. My best friend Kelly got me the first one I read from another Goodwill, kind of as a joke, since I love the show so much. Then I read it, and really loved it. So I've been on the lookout for more of them and happened to come across this one. I'm only a few pages into it so far.

Monday, February 21, 2011

Music Monday

What I've been listening to this past week.

I'm a really big fan of listening to great songs on repeat.



Sunday, February 20, 2011

Vinyl Sunday

Man, I suck at consistency. Haven't made a post since last Monday. Oh well, at least I remembered to do this!

Cheap Girls- Find Me A Drink Home 12"

I'm sorry this picture sucks so bad. It's all gloomy outside so it was hard to get any good natural light, and the light bulb in my ceiling lamp blew today. My mom and I are both too short to reach it-even standing on a chair. So until we find a solution, my room will have to be illuminated solely by my computer, Christmas lights, and bedside table light.
Anyway, this album is awesome. Every single person I have ever told about this band has ended up totally loving them. I can't pick one favorite song on this record. I really love Kind of on Purpose and No One to Blame. Also, Her & Cigarettes is a really awesome acoustic song, and everyone always seems to love it instantly.

Monday, February 14, 2011

Music Monday

Don't make fun of me for this being kind of the same thing as vinyl sunday. I just need things to blog about!

Most listened to artists from the past week or so. I thought it was kind of funny how this worked out..all the loud music on the top row, and all the girly stuff on the bottom.

Vinyl Sunday

I used to do this on tumblr but kind of gave up and kept forgetting all the time. I read somewhere that blogs are more interesting if they have reoccurring themes, like making a certain kind of post on a certain day of the week every week. Now, I don't know if that's true, or if I really care, but I think I'm going to try to start doing some things like this so that I can feel like my blog sort of has a purpose. Also, that way I'll be blogging somewhat consistently. 

So, I'm a little afraid to do this because (apparently) it kind of makes me seem like a pretentious asshole. However, my record collection is the only kind of collection of anything I've ever had. My records are probably my favorite things that I own. 
I've seen people complain before that collecting vinyl is "trendy" but I think that's absolutely absurd. Even if it is trendy, I don't see how that's a bad thing. It's becoming much less common for people to buy CD's anymore, and buying vinyl is a great way to make sure that the artists that you listen to still make the money they deserve. I also like buying vinyl because I really feel as if it's money well spent, because the product I get out of it is tangible and makes me feel like a good fan for owning it. 
Although I do still purchase CD's on occasion, it's rare, because I don't like spending money on a few small pieces of thin plastic that will surely get broken and scratched, even when belonging to someone less clumsy than I. When I buy vinyl, I've spent my money on a thick disc, envelope, and artwork the size of my torso, and I still get all the same music (and sometimes bonus tracks!). Not to mention a large majority of the time it's colored vinyl, and that's always exciting. If you try to tell me you aren't pleasantly surprised when you pull a non-black record out of the sleeve for the first time, I won't believe you.

Anyway, I won't rant like this next time. Just wanted to express my thoughts about it. 

I figured I'd start with the 7 inch I mentioned in my recent post about our roadtrip to Long Island.
Paint it Black- Amnesia 7"

Paint it Black is one of my favorite bands, and if you know me at all, you're probably sick of hearing me talk about how underrated I think they are. If for some reason you aren't into them yet, please check them out! Salem is my favorite track on this record.

p.s it took me so long to write this, that it isn't even sunday anymore. Oh well.

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Nails

After about 15 years of biting my nails, I finally stopped a few months ago. I've tried so many times but failed horribly. But a few months ago, one day I was just like "hey Jess...cut it out", and I just didn't do it anymore. Probably the only time I've ever exercised any self-control, haha. I was pretty proud of myself, but mostly just really excited to have long, pretty nails. At the time, I was working at Sally Beauty Supply, and spent most of my shifts staring at the nail polish, and I also started quite the polish collection. I've been painting my nails a new color weekly ever since.

Lately, I've been lurking on a few nail-related blogs, so I've been even more obsessed with polish colors and nail art. Unfortunately, I don't have that many awesome colors, nor do I have most of the tools to do the really awesome things I'd like to do. However, I did something with my nails this week that I thought was pretty! (besides being kind of sloppy).
I'm aware the top photo is kind of stupid looking, but I was trying to use the light from outside so you could see it better. Both of the nail polishes are 99cent ones that I got from Sally's. 
I'm probably more excited than I should be about this, however, I'll probably make more posts like this one in the future if I end up doing something else that I'm excited about for silly girly reasons.

Friday, February 4, 2011

Little Kitty

This is my kitty, Beeb. Her full name was originally Penelope + a hundred last names that I can't even remember now. We didn't call her Penelope even once, I don't think. She was the tiniest little baby when I got her, she was such a little beeb, so we always called her that, and she's always been that since.

Anyway, she is the only responsible thing I have ever done in my life so far. Haha. I took care of her and fed her and made her a bed in a basket (even though she mostly slept on my chest). I tried really hard to make her grow up into a loving cat, instead of one of those asshole cats that lures you in with cuteness but won't snuggle you at all. She turned out well, she's never been mean and everyone has always loved her. Some of my friends adopted her brothers and sisters, and most of them turned out to be crazy and mean.

One time she got really sick and couldn't control herself and accidentally pooped buckets of slimy diarrhea all over my stuff. But I still love her. She's big and fat now, but she's still adorable, and she is more loving and cuddly than ever.

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Travels

Last June, 2010, on my birthday weekend. Some friends & I drove to Long Island to see our friends Fireworks play with Paint it Black, and Crime in Stereo. The show was awesome, I picked up a PIB shirt and their Amnesia 7-inch. We stayed with a friend in Long Island for the weekend. He briefly showed us around the area and one of the places we went was a Place called the Witches Brew Coffee shop. Easily the coolest coffee shop I've ever been in. 


We also did the tourist-y one-day New York City trip since we were so close by. We mostly just walked around and visited central park, where I took some photos of innocent bystanders who have no idea that I have photos of them. Creepy?

In the rest of the photos, we all look like dirty bums, so they would be embarassing for all parties involved. However, I will leave you with this little jem that Kelly & I spotted in a rest-stop bathroom.